Tuesday, December 4, 2018

GB Political Cartoon of the Year Awards 2018

From Ellwood Atfield.

Winner - Peter Brookes

The team at Ellwood Atfield are delighted to have hosted the Political Cartoon of the Year Awards.

Political cartoons play an important role shaping the way a party, event, or individual politician is perceived by the public, at a time when maintaining freedom of speech and a free press has never been more relevant.

This annual Westminister event not only recognises and celebrates the satirical artistry of the illustrations, but is also an opportunity for us to thank our clients, partners, and candidates for their continued support in our role as a headhunter.

This was our 8th year running the event alongside our partners at The Political Cartoon Gallery. Our involvement with the awards grew from our founders’ love of political cartoons and started from humble beginnings, with an event held in our office, before moving to St John’s four years ago.

Simultaneously loved and loathed by Westminster, political cartoons are the iconic images we remember long after an event has passed. 

This year, we welcomed over 500 of the UK’s leading cartoonists, journalists, peers, Members of Parliament, and our many friends from across the advocacy, policy, and communications industries into St John’s on Smith Square to see Peter Brookes from The Times crowned the winner.

Runner Up - Harry Burton

The awards this year also celebrated Pocket Cartoons. These are editorial cartoons consisting of a topical single-panel single-column drawing. The winning entry was from Russell Herneman of Private Eye.

Other Categories

Political Cartoonist of the Year: Morten Morland
Runner Up Political Cartoonist of the Year: Bob MoranPocket Cartoonist of the Year: Grizelda

No comments:

Post a Comment