Sunday, May 28, 2017

Pieter De Jaegher wins the 5th Niels Bugge Cartoon Award

From Niels Bugge's website.

Cartoonists Alexandr Pshenyanikov, Pieter De Jaegher and Vladan Nikolic.

Artists from Belgium, Ukraine and Serbia have won the Niels Bugge Cartoon Award focusing this year on communication.

Cartoon by Pieter De Jaegher (Belgium)

Jury chairman Lars Refn announced that Pieter De Jaegher won 3,000 euros ($3,340) on Saturday for his man sitting under an open umbrella while it rains letters, a nod to Belgian surrealist painter René Magritte.

Cartoon by Alexandr Pshenyanikov (Ukraine)

Ukraine's Germany-born runner-up Alexandr Pshenyanikov won 2,000 euros for a drawing of a suicide bomber holding a city map and asking for directions on a street corner.

Vladan Nikolic from Serbia placed third.

No comments:

Post a Comment