Sunday, April 21, 2019

Winners of the Euro-Kartoenale 2019

From the ECC website.

Agim Sulaj (Italy)

The Berlin Wall fell exactly 30 years ago and today we see new boundaries erected all over the world.

This inspired the theme for the 22nd edition of the Euro-kartoenale Kruishoutem: ‘The Wall - in all its forms’.

For this edition, no less than 985 cartoonists from 87 countries (an absolute record) sent in 2750 cartoons. 

First Prize: Arslan Dogan (Turkey)

Second Prize: Luis Mecho (Costa Rica)

Third Prize: Jalal Pirmarzanad (Iran)

Best Entry European Union: Andrzej Krawczak (Poland)

Best Belgian Entry: Herwig Beyaert (Belgium)

Prize of the ECC: Jean-Loic Belom (France)

Honourable mention: Nikola Listes (Croatia) 

Honourable mention: Mahmood Nazari (Iran)

Honourable mention: Mikhail Zlatkovsky (Russia)

Honourable mention: Valentin Druzihin (Russia)

A selection of the best 150 cartoons can be seen until June 30th in the exhibition in the European Cartoon Center.

From July on, a smaller exhibition of 60 works will travel in different cities in Belgium.

European Cartoon Center
René D'Huyvetterstraat 5C
9770 Kruishoutem

+32 (0)495 76 38 74

No comments:

Post a Comment