Friday, May 22, 2015

Reuben Awards 2015

From the National Cartoonists Society website.

Art by Tom Richmond

The 69th Annual Reuben Awards Weekend will be held this weekend in Washington D.C.
Here is the speaker lineup and special award winners:

Mort Drucker- First recipient of the “NCS Medal of Honor”; Speaker
Jeff Keane- Recipient of the NCS “Silver T-Square” for outstanding dedication to the Society
Brian Crane- Reuben winning creator of the syndicated comic strip “Pickles”; speaker
Doug Mahnke- Superstar comic book artist; speaker
Mark Anderson- Gag cartoonist, “”; speaker
Juana Medina- Illustrator, first recipient of the Jay Kennedy Memorial Scholarship; speaker
Nick Galifianakis- Cartoonist, author, illustrator; speaker
Ann Telnaes, Pulitzer prize winning editorial cartoonist; moderating a panel on “Cartooning and Free Speech”


This year, the Reuben Award went to New Yorker cartoonist Roz Chast

In the division awards the winners are:

Magazine Feature / Magazine Illustration
Tom Richmond

Newspaper Illustration
Anton Emdin

Greeting Card
Glenn McCoy

TV Animation
Patrick McHale, Creator Over The Garden Wall

Feature Animation
Tomm Moore, Director Song of the Sea

Advertising / Product Illustration
Ed Steckley

Book Illustration
Marla Frazee The Farmer and the Clown

Magazine Gag Cartoon
Liza Donnelly

Graphic Novel
Jules Feiffer Kill My Mother

Comic Book
Jason Latour Southern Bastards

Online Comics – Short Form
Danielle Corsetto Girls with Slingshots

Online Comics – Long Form
Minna Sundberg Stand Still, Stay Silent

Newspaper Panel Cartoon
Hilary Price Rhymes with Orange

Editorial Cartoon
Michael Ramirez

Newspaper Comic Strip
Stephan Pastis Pearls Before Swine

Michael Cavna attended this weekend and posted his impressions of the event.

1 comment:

  1. The poster designers certainly don't deserve any awards for the lettering on the poster!