Saturday, October 2, 2021

The 2020 Townsie Awards

Wes Tyrell, president of the Association of Canadian Cartoonists met ACC past Presidents Andy Donato and Graeme Mackay to unveil the long-delayed Townsie Awards. 

They were to be given out in Ottawa last year and, because of the Covid comedy, have been sitting waiting in the Townsie closet. But, no longer!

Watch the video below for a one-in-a million twist!

About the Townsie Awards

This two part award, one for the best Anglophone cartoon and one for the best Francophone cartoon, was initiated by the Association of Canadian Editorial Cartoonists* under President Wes Tyrell (Christopher Tracey) at the 2014 Convention in Havana, Cuba. 

The award was named in honour of Field Marshal George Townshend, who took command of the British forces at the Battle of the Plains of Abraham upon General Wolfe's death. 

He had held General Wolfe in much contempt and, in drawing Wolfe in caricature, created Canada's first cartoon.

"More disgraceful laxity!", 1759, M1443 © McCord Museum

*The Association of Canadian Editorial Cartoonists has since been renamed the Association of Canadian Cartoonists.


The winning entries:

Guide to zero garbage

1 comment: