Monday, October 18, 2021

Bruce MacKinnon Wins Reuben Award

 From SaltWire.

SaltWire network cartoonist Bruce MacKinnon was honoured Saturday night by the National Cartoonists Society.

Anne Telnaes of the Washington Post presented MacKinnon with a Reuben award for editorial and political cartoons in a very efficient virtual ceremony.

The award-winning cartoon depicts the transformation of U.S. president Donald Trump from a clown to the Joker.

The other nominees in the category were Christopher Weyant of the New Yorker, Darrin Bell, a Pulitzer prize winner and a syndicated cartoonist with King Features and Nancy Ohanian, whose work is syndicated through the Tribune Content Agency.

Earlier this month, Canada Post announced that MacKinnon’s work would be featured on a postage stamp.

Last year, SaltWire cartoonist Michael De Adder won the Herblock Prize, another prestigious U.S. award.

No comments:

Post a Comment