Saturday, May 9, 2020

The 16th Doug Wright Awards

The 16th annual Doug Wright Awards. hosted by Don McKellar, were livestreamed at 8 pm this Saturday on both the DWA Facebook group and on YouTube.

And the awards went to:

The Doug Wright Award for best book

Bezimena, Nina Bunjevac, Fantagraphics Books 

The Nipper: The Doug Wright Award for emerging talent 

Sylvia Nickerson, Creation, Drawn & Quarterly

The Pigskin Peters: The Doug Wright Award for best small- or micro-press book 

Gleem, Freddy Carrasco, Peow Studios 

The Egghead: The Doug Wright Award for best kids’ book 

The Worst Book Ever, Elise Gravel, Drawn & Quarterly 

Giants of the North: The Canadian Cartoonist Hall of Fame

Last year, we instituted a new tradition of inducting one living and one deceased member of the Canadian comics community annually to the Giants of the North hall of fame. After consulting with this year’s living Giants nominee, we collectively made the decision to push their induction to 2021, when we return to staging a live public ceremony.

This year’s Giants of the North nominee is Walter Ball (1911–1995), the longtime Toronto Star cartoonist and art department supervisor, best known for the strip Rural Route.

No comments:

Post a Comment