Thursday, October 5, 2023

AAEC convention in San Francisco

From the AAEC Facebook Page.

Cartoonists from across the US and Canada (and one from New Zeland) descend on San Francisco today for the confab of the Association of American Editorial Cartoonists.


This year's AAEC awards have been announced:

Kentucky cartoonist Joel Pett is the 2023 recipient of the “Rex Babin Memorial Award for Excellence in Local Cartooning.” The panel of judges also named Boston’s Sage Stossel as finalist.

The prize was announced Saturday, Oct. 7, at the annual convention of the Association of American Editorial Cartoonists (AAEC), in San Francisco.

The winners of the 2023 Ink Bottle Awards were announced at the event. The award is given to individuals or groups for their dedication to the spirit of the profession and significant contribution to the art of editorial cartooning.

This year’s recipients included 
  • Mike Peterson, D.D. Degg and Alan Gardner of the industry news site The Daily Cartoonist;
  • Washington Post reporter Michael Cavna for his Comic Riffs column; publisher, 
  • writer and cartoonist Matt Bors for his work on The Nib
  • and AAEC volunteer extraordinaire Maryellen Dabaghian.

No comments:

Post a Comment