Wednesday, April 10, 2024

Nominees of the 20th Doug Wright Awards

From Doug Wright Awards.

Here is the list of nominees for the 20th annual Doug Wright Awards which will be presented at the Arts & Letters Club in Toronto on Saturday May 11, 2924.

The Doug Wright Award for best book
  • Val-d’Or Neon, Olivier Ballou (Self-published)
  • A Guest in the House, Emily Carroll (First Second)
  • Harvey Knight’s Odyssey, Nick Maandag (Drawn & Quarterly)
  • Naked: The Confessions of a Normal Woman, Éloïse Marseille (Pow Pow Press)
  • Roaming. Jillian Tamaki and Mariko Tamaki, (Drawn & Quarterly)
  • JAJ, Michael Nicoll Yahgulanaas, (Douglas & McIntyre)

The Nipper: The Doug Wright Award for emerging talent
  • James Collier, The Lonesome Shepherd, (Wig Shop)
  • Vincy Lim, When I was a kid I was taught how to die and When She Set Fire to My Friends’ Houses, ((Self-published)
  • Syd Madia, Syd Madia’s Dracula, (Self-published)
  • Christopher Twin, Bad Medicine, (Emanata/Conundrum)
  • Kyle Vingoe-Cram, Kettle Harbour, (Conundrum)

The Pigskin Peters: The Doug Wright Award for best small- or micro-press book
  • Endsickness No. 2, Sofia Alarcon, (Self-published)
  • The Lonesome Shepherd, James Collier, (Wig Shop)
  • Old Caves, Tyler Landry, (Uncivilized)
  • Power 9: Part One, John Little and David Little, (Self-published)
  • Index, Sven, Rachel Evangeline Chiong and Joyce Kim, (Self-published)

The Egghead: The Doug Wright Award for best kids’ book
  • ThunderBoom, Jack Briglio and Claudia Dávila, (Kids Can Press)
  • Pluto Rocket: New in Town, Paul Gilligan, (Tundra Books)
  • Hockey Girl Loves Drama Boy, Faith Erin Hicks, (First Second)
  • Otis & Peanut, Naseem Hrab and Kelly Collier, (Owlkids Books)
  • Bad Medicine, Christopher Twin, (Emanata/Conundrum)

Nominees for the 2024 Doug Wright Awards were selected from entries of books published in the 2023 calendar year. The short list and winners were chosen by a panel of three judges for each category.

This year, 200 entries by Canadian authors and artists were submitted from dozens of publishers and self-published authors.

Creators with multiple nominations include James Collier and Christopher Twin, while Olivier Ballou’s Val-d’Or Neon is only the second self-published book to be nominated in the best book category in the award’s history.

Publishers of multiple nominees include Conundrum, Drawn & Quarterly, and First Second.

Each winner will receive a small cash prize, and the winner of The Nipper will be awarded a week-long stay at the Valleyview Artist Retreat, in Caledon, Ontario. 

Giants of the North: The Canadian Cartooning Hall of Fame

This year’s Giants of the North inductees are Deni Loubert, the one-time publisher and founder of Renegade Press and one-time publisher and co-founder of Aardvark-Vanaheim; and Maurice Vellekoop, the artist and cartoonist whose most recent book is I’m So Glad We Had This Time Together.

The Ceremony

The 20th annual Doug Wright Awards takes place on Saturday, May 11th, at 8 p.m. ET, at the Arts & Letters Club, 14 Elm Street, Toronto, hosted by Dustin Harbin. The event will also be livestreamed on YouTube.

This year’s ceremony will double as the launch of The Collected Doug Wright (1963–1980), the second and final volume of this series, featuring an extensive section of strips from Wright’s masterpiece, Doug Wright’s Family (a.k.a. Nipper). 

The book—the first from our own Giants of the North imprint—will be available for sale at the ceremony and during the Toronto Comic Arts Festival.

No comments:

Post a Comment