Sunday, May 14, 2017

2017 Doug Wright Awards

From the Doug Wright Awards' blog.

The "Nipper" trophy was created by Seth.

The winners of the 13th annual Doug Wright Awards, recognizing the best work and most promising talent in Canadian comics, were announced Saturday evening at a ceremony in Toronto. 

One of this year’s winners was a first-time Doug Wright Award nominee, and all three are first-time winners.

  • Doug Wright Best Book Award (for the best English-language book published in Canada)
          Bird in a Cage by Rebecca Roher (Conundrum Press)

  • Doug Wright Spotlight Award (a.k.a. The Nipper) (For a Canadian cartoonist deserving of wider recognition)
          Steve Wolfhard, for Cat Rackham (Koyama Press)
  • Pigskin Peters Award (For the best experimental, unconventional or avant-garde comic)
          The Palace of Champions by Henriette Valium (Conundrum Press)
  • This year’s inductee to the Giants of the North Canadian cartoonist hall of fame, which celebrates creators who have made a life-long contribution to the field, is pioneering cartoonist and comics journalist Katherine Collins, formerly known as Arn Saba before transitioning in 1993.

No comments:

Post a Comment