Thursday, May 14, 2015

2015 Doug Wright Awards

BK Munn in Sequential.

It’s been a big weekend for comics news. First we had the announcement Friday that Chris Oliveros is stepping down as publisher of Drawn & Quarterly, to be replaced by Peggy Burns and Tom Devlin, and second, the winners of the 2015 Doug Wright awards for Canadian Cartooning were announced during TCAF on Saturday night.

As it has for the past few years, the Awards ceremony took place at the Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel adjacent to the comics show. Nina Bunjevac took the top prize of Best Book for her autobiographical graphic memoir Fatherland (published by Jonathan Cape/Random House Books). 
Meags Fitzgerald won “The Nipper” for her debut graphic novel from Conundrum, Photobooth (the award, otherwise known as The Doug Wright Spotlight Award, recognizes talent deserving wider recognition, and usually goes to a younger artist, and usually heralds future big things). 
The final prize of the night, The Pigskin Peters Award for avant-garde comics, went to Connor Willumsen for his webcomic “Swinespritzen.” 
The Awards also included a short ceremony and film inducting the 93-year-old retired newspaper political cartoonist Merle “Ting” Tingley into The Giants of the North hall of fame. 
DWA site

No comments:

Post a Comment